How to Share Google Photos with Family

Rate this post

Google Photos is a web and mobile app.  It can store pictures and videos of your family. To use this application Google account required.

A shared library is part of this app. Shared family photos are visible on other Google account holders.

Filter the photos you want to share. The AI engine of Google Photos categorizes face groups.

Extra storage can be got with Google One membership. Google experts will provide help if necessary. 

Members benefits are many including discounts. Storing photos on the hard-disk can be risky with adware, malware and ransomware. 

Google Photos Partner Sharing not working

Share google account to access all your photos. But that is a security breach.

You can always save your partner’s photos and are added to your Google Photos account, search results and personalized actions.

This way you can recover deleted pictures.

You can always download all your photos. Shared libraries require Google account.

Partner’s photos are visible in your account. The menu will contain all the options.

Photo library is a mix of family group google, relatives, weddings, occasions and selfies.

You can share the entire library.

How Google Photos Sharing with Partner Works ?

Photo library is visible to all the family members when shared. Some options disabled. You may not see the date of the image.

Family Group Google will show animations, cards and important incidents of your life. 

View saved photos on mobile using the Google Photos app. 

Your partner can see the new photos. Gmail Google photos takes lot of time and constrained by the image size and extra storage. 

You can also do link sharing with other family group google. Settings, partner sharing are effortless. The date range gives easy recognition of your photos.

How to Share Google Photos with Spouse

If you have removed your partner, then he/she will not be able to see the photos. In order to see family group google you need to share the library. 

Add partner account Google photos of your wife. The original copy will still exist in your library.

On Android, you can add the account. You can then upload the photos using the backup & sync feature.

Google family group is intended as a membership benefit among parents and kids. 

Google Photos and Family Sharing

We have several members in our family and neighborhood.

Google Photos app automatically syncs your photos on Android to your cloud account. Sharing Google Drive link is another feature by which other family members can see your pictures. 

It includes parents, kids, relatives, and friends. Your Google account is personal. Google Photos in your account also will be private. Nobody can have access to them.

Free storage Google will give access to 15GB of storage including Gmail and Gdrive. Extra storage will give more than 85GB, based on your subscription plan. 

Google Photos Share All Photos

Each member of your family needs a Google account to share their private photos and videos in Google Photos.

Sharing Google Drive can be problematic for security reasons. 

But what if you decide to share your pics and videos with members of your family?

You should not give sensitive information like your Google account details to kids and parents.

It is for security reasons.

Google provides different access options to Google Photos to share with your family members in such a case.

You can share entire Google Photos with only one person.

Google Photos Partner Sharing Settings

1.     Open photos.google.com in your Chrome or browser. Sign in to your Google Account or Gmail.

2.     On the left side, click on Utilities.

3.     Add partner account is visible on the right pane.

4.     Click Get Started.

5.     Enter the partner’s Google account email id or select from the list of contacts.

6.     Click on Next and select the All photos option.

7.     Other options are

a.     Photos of specific people

b.     Only show photos since this day

8.     Click on Send Invitation. Your son or father has to accept that request.

That’s it. Your family member’s Google account can now see your photos.

Family group consists of children and adults. Parental controls can be done based on the type of account. Member benefits are many with Google One subscription. 

Share only relevant photos. You can restrict photos that you don’t like to share. 

How to Share Google Photos with Family on Android?

The same steps prevail in your Redmi or any other Android mobile.

1.     Open your Google Photos app and tap on the account profile photo of your Google account.

(Note: I hope you have already have added your Google account to your Android phone).

2.     Tap on Photos Settings.

3.     On the next screen, tap Sharing > Partner Sharing.

4.     Tap on getting Started.

5.     Select your partner from the contacts list or type the email of your account.

6.     The same options on the desktop are available here. Tap on Next.

7.     Tap on Send Invitation.

The other family member has to accept the partner sharing invitation to see the photos and videos.

How to do Google Photos Partner Sharing multiple users?

No, it is not possible. You need to remove the current partner account and then add another charge as a partner.

Also, adding multiple users to the same tab to all your photos and videos is not possible.

Google Photos allows only one person to share your library incomplete.

On the other hand, you can create several albums from your existing photos and share them with multiple family members.

Google Photos Multiple Users

The only other alternative to adding multiple users to your Google Photos account is to subscribe to the Google One plan.

Here, you can add additional 5 family members to your account. So all of them can share all the photos or specific pictures.

Cons

Even though you share your Photos library with your partner or kid, they cannot search through any photo or face.

Some features like selected face groups are not available in the shared option. Instead, they have to save all the images to their account before using them as their own.

Also, if the other person does not accept your invitation, he will not see your photos. With images shared, creation of albums may not be possible. Privileged access limited.

Once they start saving the photos, their account storage will exceed the limited 15GB storage. Any images exceeding this limit will curtail. No photos will back up.  

Share on:

I am a professional Wordpress Designer for the past 12 years. This blog focuses on Wordpress Speed performance, Cloudflare Case-Studies, Google Services and Chrome extensions. Interested in making online friends and meeting new bloggers.

Leave a Comment